Posted on

The Flames of Death Spork II: Remaster Boogaloo, Chapter 16

So. Malorn has joined Malistaire, and last we saw he had launched a massive attack on Krokotopia and killed pretty much everyone with his Super Special Evil Powers. So let’s see what’ll happen: Will Malorn slowly succumb to his True Nature™ and become Malistaire’s loyal ruthless servant, until Nicole swoops in and saves him by reminding him of Who He Used To Be, or will he be a helpless victim doing all of this because he Has No Choice, until Nicole swoops in and saves him? Because honestly, even Nikaya seems to have been confused this entire time about which one it’ll be. ONWARDS TO FACE THIS TRAIN WRECK! First chapter here, previous chapter here.

[Author’s Note 5/1/16]: This is the final chapter guys! There will be an epilogue after that tells what happens when it’s all over! So enjoy the final chapter, and stay tuned for the epilogue! Thank you all so much for reading my story! This has been the most fun of all my stories to write, and I hope you all enjoyed it as much as I did!

We did not.

Chapter Sixteen: The Darkness

Months had gone by. My job had become to take over the Spiral.

The worlds beyond Krokotopia were not nearly as easily conquered. Krokotopia had been on its last stand in the Oasis, and my job there was to simply wrap up the task.

Marleybone had a large enough army in its own right to assist in our conquest. The cats and rats of the world obliged in helping us with little need to convince them. The battle fought there proved to have little bloodshed because the Marleybonian army was already spread too thin across the Spiral to help other worlds. They surrendered within a few weeks.

MooShu was another story. Their warriors had stayed on the home front knowing what was coming for them soon enough. Their samoorai and ninjas alike fought the battle until the bitter end. They used mostly magic, but some took up their blades as well making it the bloodiest one we had fought. The entirety of it had taken three months alone.

The crusade I led through the Spiral had become known as the most devastating war in Wizarding History. Over time, I had to begin to take pride in my work because when I didn’t, it showed. And my father wouldn’t have that; I had to truly be loyal to him or else he would take the one thing I truly loved.

With Dragonspyre mostly in ruins, we had begun to fight on the front that was Wizard City. With each passing day, it had become easier and easier to forget what I once was.

For the first time in my life, I felt like I had full control over my own actions. I was the one commanding the armies. I was the one bending the undead to my will. And I was the one that had everyone begging for my mercy.

So, Ruthless Servant?

Though I relished in it, there was always the one thing that had kept me sane missing from my life… Nicole. But she was also the reason why I had to do what I did. If I didn’t follow my father’s orders, she would be killed in front of me.

,,,Or Helpless Victim?????

It was the one thing keeping me going despite how much I had grown to hate what I’d become.

I hadn’t seen Nicole or the others since the night I left from the cottage. I figured that the others had eventually realized what had happened to me and decided to regroup rather than following through with the mission. It probably took a lot of convincing for Nicole to let me go, but however it happened, I was glad. She would be safe from my father.

Today was just a devastating as the last. My army had arrived in Wizard City just a few days ago, and we had leveled most of the towns within it.

But today was different for one final reason; today was the day I would destroy Ravenwood.

I glided into Ravenwood through the tunnel and fueled by all of the power I had harnessed from the undead and the Wizards I had taken the lives of along my conquest. Surrounded by the red, crackling energy, I looked around at the scene before me.

Wizards of every school and level were fighting as hard as they could to keep the monsters back. The rules of dueling had been long abandoned as wand spells and summonings were happening in all directions.

In the middle of the fray, I saw Dalia Falmea and my chest tightened slightly. For a brief moment, we made eye contact through the chaos, and I watched as her eyes narrowed if only for a second before she turned back to the monsters headed her way.

Oh right we forgot about that, throughout all of this literally the only thing you’ve cared about is saving Nicole, with her friends almost as an afterthought, and yet you didn’t even once think about Falmea, even though she’s supposed to be your adoptive mother?? Jesus Christ, Nikaya, not everything is about you, not everything CAN be about you if you want this shit to actually work.

I reached out before regaining composure again. I wanted to save her… make sure her and the other professors were alright.

Ambrose…. I wondered if he was out there somewhere fighting back the chaos. I had no way of knowing since I had lost contact with him a long time ago.

I looked around frantically for a moment realizing who was missing from the fight: Nicole, Samantha, Cole, and Ryan.

I swallowed as the panic began to set into my system. I rose as quickly as I could above Bartleby and looked down over the world. Surprising myself, I couldn’t sense their presences from this distance, even with all of the power I had obtained.

Deciding to end the fight quickly so as to not further risk their lives, I waved my staff across myself the same way I had what felt like eons ago, and froze the undead.

I floated up higher in the air and allowed my powers to engulf myself in red energy as my eyes began to glow. “Wizard City!” I called out. “Lay down your wands, and I will put an end to your suffering!”

“Malorn!” I heard a voice call. I looked down over Ravenwood and saw Dalia standing there, calling out to me. “Do you honestly believe us to give up so easily?!”

My eyes narrowed at her now, and I raised my staff. “Does it feel as though you can win against me? Give up, and I won’t allow you all to die!”

“We’re not going down without a fight, boy!” Cyrus called out now. “If I’ve taught you anything in your years under my wing, it’s that!”

I clenched my teeth before sending back my biting response, “Fight all you want then! Do you wish me to release the undead upon you so that you can all suffer?” At that, the professors exchanged weary glances. “Look around you!” I said with a scoff. “You are letting your students die for your pride! You simply don’t wish to lose to me!”

“We won’t lose to Malistare!” Greyrose called back. “We know he is behind all of this, and we refuse to let him win!”

At that, I laughed. “You honestly believe he’s behind all of this? Guess what, pixie! I’m the one you should fear right now! I’m the one that’s about to destroy you all! Malistare may have taught me everything I know, but I’m the one that’s here, and I run the show!”

Hush, petulant child.

And at those words, I waved my staff again, releasing the undead from my hold and allowing them to run rampant. I waved my staff again, creating more undead along with those already summoned. “Destroy Ravenwood!”

I turned away from the scene, waving the staff briefly in front of me to create a portal back to Dragonspyre. I couldn’t stand to watch what would happen next, so I went home.

Phasing through the portal, I was immediately deafened by silence. Stepping through, I took in my surroundings of the mansion and quickly realized I was alone.

There were always minions around.

I quickly ran out of my bedroom and down the hallway to my father’s office, bursting through the doors to see an empty chair behind his desk. I looked around the room quickly, not seeing any sign of a fight.

I turned and bolted back down the hallway to the grand staircase leading to the great foyer where I had first come to give myself up to Malistare. When I reached the platform halfway down, I nearly fell over as I stopped dead in my tracks.

The scene before me seemed to happen in slow motion.

Cole, Samantha and Ryan were all standing with their wands raised as they glanced up at me. All of them looked much worse for wear.

My father was falling backward onto the bottom of the stairs as his body fell limp.

And Nicole… had her wands pointed at his heart, the tip still alight with flames.

Malistare’s body hit floor and burst into ashes as they floated up into the sky.

So you have them defeat your story’s Big Bad and you don’t even fucking show it to us except for the very last second?????

And through the ashes, my gaze locked with Nicole’s.

“Malorn….” her voice cracked as she spoke in barely a whisper. She slowly lowered her wand as the light at the end of it dulled. Her face was bloodied and bruised, and her robes were torn and mangled. She was gaping at me as her eyes welled with tears, and she took a tentative step toward me, reaching out her other hand.

“Nicole, don’t!” Cole called out. I barely noticed Ryan put a hand on his shoulder and shake his head.

“Malorn… you’re alive….” she whispered. A stray tear ran down her cheek. “The rumors were true….”

Taking a step back from her, I scoffed. “Of course I’m alive,” I said, my tone cold. “Who do you think has been busy conquering the Spiral?”

At my words, Nicole pulled her hand back as if jolted by a Storm spell. She raised her eyebrows at me. “Wh… What…?” she barely croaked out.

I shook my head as I started to laugh. I laughed harder than I had in a long time. I felt good despite how much it hurt my sides from underuse for so long. “You stupid girl….” I muttered to myself, shaking my head again when I finally regained composure. “I’m the one that took over the Spiral! Not my father!”

Nicole took a step back and looked over her shoulder at the others before turning back to me.

“You can drop the act, Malorn,” Ryan called to me, taking a step toward Nicole. “Malistare is dead. Nicole defeated him!”

“Oh, Ryan,” I tell him, “this isn’t an act anymore,” I said, chuckling darkly. “This is who I am now. And it’s all for precious Nicole.”

,,,So are you trying to do a darkship now??? Because newsflash, girliepop, this ain’t it.

“What are you talking about?” Ryan asked.

I locked my eyes back onto Nicole as I spoke. “I became evil to protect Nicole from Malistare. And now that he’s gone, I guess I have to finish what he started, don’t I?”

WE’RE LAUGHING SO HARD WHAT THE FUCK, WHAT THE FUCK IS GOING ON ANYMORE

Nicole took another two tentative steps backward, and Cole stepped forward, putting a hand on her shoulder. I heard him whisper to her with my powers,

It sporks itself.

“Nicole, he’s lost his mind. We need to get out of here.”

“Yes! That you should!” I said, answering for her. His eyes narrowed at me, and Nicole surprisingly held my gaze.

Finally, Nicole looked back to Cole and pulls his hand off of her shoulder gently. She takes a step forward again as I sneer at her. She says, “Malorn…. It’s okay now…. You can come home….” Another tear falls down her cheek.

And another sudden tense switch

I smirk at her. “I am home.”

She gapes at me again, and this time, the tears come quickly and flow more freely. “Malorn….”

“Nicole, we need to get out of here,” Cole says to her. “He’s really dangerous, maybe even more than Malistare was.”

I clap slowly. “Very observant indeed, Cole! He trained me to be more dangerous than himself so that I would continue in his footsteps.”

Then, Nicole reacted unexpectedly. Her fists clenched, they started to shake and glow with a fiery light. She clenched her eyes shut as more tears fell and she turned her head away from me. Swiping the tears away with her robe sleeve, she turned to face me once again raising her wand. She crouched into a fighting stance. “I know what I have to do.”

I cocked my head to one side, wondering what she was doing. “Nicole, dear,” I said, making her flinch slightly. “You don’t have to fight me. Go home. The Spiral has lost. The fight is over. You’re safe now.”

She took a deep breath before yelling back to me, “The fight isn’t over until you’re defeated, Malorn! I won’t give up! The Spiral is my home!”

“Nicole… you stupid girl,” I said, shaking my head and stepping down the stairs. “You’ve already lost. You don’t need to fight me.”

Okay Kylo

Through gritted teeth, she snapped back, “I will fight until the Malorn I know comes home.”

Lowering my head, I finally admit defeat. “Nicole… I have an appearance to keep up here… for you.”

She narrowed her eyes at me, unsure of whether or not to believe me now.

I sighed. “Look at what I’ve already done. My father’s army has already taken over the Spiral with my help. I control the Spiral! But the second they see weakness in me, they will destroy me as their leader. And then, they will come after you.” I said as gently as I could muster. Her eyes widened at last as she began to understand. “If I go with you, we will all be killed. You have to leave me here. Forget about me. Live in peace, despite my having taken over the Spiral…. I’m sorry, but it’s what I have to do now.”

Every turn in this story has been a left

Nicole grimaced. I could see it in her eyes that she was honestly torn. On the one hand, she wanted me to live and to turn and leave me behind so that we’d both be okay in the end. On the other hand, she was loyal to the Spiral and everyone in it that she had saved over the past few years.

And I knew she owed it all to her father.

Biting her bottom lip, she finally looked straight into my eyes once again. She took a deep breath and raised her wand. “Malorn Ashthorn…. If you want to take over the Spiral…” her voice cracking on the word, “you’ll have to go through me.” She looked back to the others, wiping away one last tear. “Everyone else, stay back.” She turned back to me and looked me dead in the eyes. “This is my fight.”

I nodded as I lifted my arms up, allowing the glowing red energy of my powers surround my body and lift me into the air. “As you wish.”

I extended my staff forward and shot out a red bolt of energy searing through the air at Nicole. Briefly, her eyes widened and she rolled out of the way just as the energy crackled and exploded on the floor. I watched as she drew a Fire symbol in the air, summoning a Fire Dragon. Rather than send it toward me, she jumped up onto its back, and steered it in a way that reminded me painfully of Kalohae.

I flew around quickly to dodge the white-hot breaths of fire raging throughout the air. A few of them caught me here and there, and I felt my body begin to ache. I drew a Death symbol in the air to summon a Wraith. It emerged from the marble floor and began to drain the energy straight out of the dragon. Along with it, Nicole began to glow blue as the lifeforce drained out of her.

The dragon spiraled down to the floor and crashed into the stairs, collapsing stone all around them. The Fire Dragon was desummoned and burst into flames. Nicole pushed a large stone off of her and stood, wiping blood off of her forehead.

Girl do you know how fucking heavy stone is, how ‘large’ are you talking here

She drew another Fire symbol in the air, this time summoning a Helephant. She stood back as it stomped on the ground in front of her, and it quickly took its blade to the Wraith and then to me in the air.

Feeling the intense heat of the blade in my torso, I couldn’t hold the powers’ ability to make me fly, and I fell out of the air onto the cold, marble floor. I pushed myself up onto my hands and knees, holding my stomach to stop the bleeding as I drew another Death symbol in the air.

This time, a Scarecrow erupted from the ground with a crow cackling on its shoulder. It looked from me to Cole, Samantha and Ryan, and quickly glided over to them instead of Nicole.

“No!” she yelled, her wand pointed in their direction.

The Scarecrow turned, feasting its eyes upon the Helephant instead, sapping the life out of it. Nicole felt the hit too as I watched her fall to her knees.

The Scarecrow turned back to the others once again, but Nicole was too quick. Before I could blink, a Phoenix was summoned between the others and my Scarecrow, and the phoenix unleashed a barrage of flames, setting my Scarecrow on fire as it turned to dust.

The phoenix turned its attention to me as it took in a breath to unleash its fire on me.

But instead of summoning another creature, I waved my staff in the air and the phoenix became engulfed in an aura of red energy. I snapped my fingers on my other hand, and the phoenix was screeching in agony from the energy electrifying its entire body.

As it was happening, I hadn’t noticed that Nicole had gotten up again and shot a roar of flames straight at me. I turned in time to see the wall of fire as I released the phoenix from my grasp.

Before I could blink, I was on the ground once again. I clenched my eyes shut against the screams of the phoenix as it exploded into flames behind me. Groaning, I opened my eyes just as another barrage of flames came at me, head-on. I rolled out of the way in time to see Nicole running straight toward me.

So I did what I had to do.

I widened my eyes, letting my powers take over yet again. My body began to glow red and the energy engulfed Nicole in it. Her arms became bound to her sides and was being hovered in the air in front of me.

“Nicole!” Samantha called out from across the room. I could tell the three of them wanted to make a break for it, but even Cole was holding her back this time.

I slowly rose to my feet, swaying as I did, and walked up to the Nicole, lifting her so she was eye-to-eye with me.

It sporks. Itself.

“You’ve lost.” I said simply. I cracked a smirk at her, thankful that I wouldn’t have to put an end to this. “Now you need to leave before I do something I’ll regret.”

‘I’m destroying the Spiral to save you and I’ll do it even if it kills you’

Just then, Nicole’s face went blank as she stared into space. I narrowed my eyes at her for a brief moment before she shook her head and her eyes widened at me, coming back to reality. “Malorn! Please! You need to let go of me!”

“And why would I do that?” I mused. “Are you going to leave? Or are you going to try to kill me?”

“Malorn, please!” she said, her voice rising. “You need to let me go, now!”

“I don’t trust you to just go empty-handed,” I retorted, my eyes narrowed at her.

“If you love me at all… if you ever have loved me, you’ll release me right now!”

As she spoke, my hold on her broke as she collapsed to the floor. At the same time, I heard a loud cracking sound above us where rubble from the ceiling began to fall.

One huge chuck on stone came flying down toward us. With Nicole still on the ground in front of me, I dove at her.

Chuck. On. Stone.

…Are you fucking allergic to giving this thing even a single once-over after you finish a chapter.

As the dust cleared, I vaguely heard the others running over to us. I cracked my eyes open for just a moment.

And that was when the pain overtook me.

I looked down and saw the rock lodged straight through my abdomen. I started gasping for air, but quickly stopped when I started to choke on blood.

There was another, much duller pain coming from my right hand where I had dropped my staff. I craned my neck to see that it was Nicole, clasping my hand in both of hers with her forehead pressed to it, sobbing.

“Sit him up!” Cole ordered for Ryan. Immediately Ryan was behind me, pushing me into a sitting position. I couldn’t even groan at the pain from chocking so hard on the blood.

No! With a wound like that the LAST thing you do is move the victim into a different position! Also if he was fucking impaled by that rock then he kind of wouldn’t be ABLE to sit up.

“What do we do?!” Samantha gasped. “Can you heal him, Cole? You can heal him, right?”

“I’m trying my best,” he said as he pressed his glowing green hands to my chest. I sucked in air as if I had just broken the surface of water.

“Malorn… Malorn please….” Nicole sobbed. “I loved you…. I still love you, too.”

My vision began to blur before I could utter a response to her. The others were speaking quickly to one another in a slight panic, trying to repair the damage. But something inside me told me that I was irreparable… both physically and mentally.

I mustered all the strength I had left in me to keep my eyes open and look to Nicole. She was still sobbing over my hand, covered in blood. I tried as hard as I could and squeezed her hand back using every last ounce of strength left in my body.

Feeling the slight twinge of my grasp, she lifted her head to finally look into my eyes with tears staining her face. Blood dripping from my lips and pooling at my chin, I managed to smile at her.

Then the world went dark.

Well. That happened.

–Bishop

Continue reading.

About Si1verwing

My fandoms are many, with the first ones being Invader Zim, Harry Potter, and Doctor Who, and the most prevalent ones being Harry Potter, Pirate101, DC, and Steven Universe. I have a FanFiction account, and my PenName is Si1verwing. My profile page there describes me a bit more thoroughly.

2 responses to “The Flames of Death Spork II: Remaster Boogaloo, Chapter 16

  1. Pingback: The Flames of Death Spork II: Remaster Boogaloo, Chapter 15 | The Toilet of FanFiction.Net

  2. Pingback: The Flames of Death Spork II: Remaster Boogaloo, Epilogue | The Toilet of FanFiction.Net

ayy lmao